Car Rental

Time Differences


All You Need to Know About Indonesia’s Time Zones

As a massive archipelago, it is understandable that Indonesia has different time zones in its territory. There is the Indonesia Western Standard Time (WIB), Indonesia Central Standard Time (WITA), and Indonesia Eastern Standard Time (WIT). So what are these time zones and how do you calculate the differences from all over the world?

So What is Western Standard Time (WIB)?

The western side of Indonesia follows Western Standard Time, known as Waktu Indonesia Barat (WIB). The area covered here is the whole of Sumatra Island, the whole of Java Island, West Kalimantan province and also Central Kalimantan. So if you’re visiting cities like Jakarta, Bandung, Batam or Pontianak, adjust your watches to the time of WIB. Jakarta is also the capital of Indonesia, therefore it has become a benchmark for time differences all over the world.

What about Central Standard Time (WITA)?

Just an hour difference from WIB, the central part of Indonesia follows WITA. Adjust your watches accordingly to this time zone if you’re visiting cities in South Kalimantan, East Kalimantan, North Kalimantan, the whole of Sulawesi island, the whole of Bali Island, West Nusa Tenggara and East Nusa Tenggara (like Denpasar or Makassar).

Now, How is the Eastern Standard Time (WIT)?

Visiting cities like Maluku or somewhere in Papua? Set your watches to the WIT time zone. It has a two-hour difference from WIB and applies to only Maluku and Papua (including North Maluku and West Papua).

Here is a Time Zone Difference Guide from Jakarta to The Rest of the World:


Time Zones and Prayer Times in Indonesia

As a Muslim majority country, there is always a mosque nearby in every part of Indonesia that alerts the people with the call to prayer during the five prayer times. Prayer times all over the country differ due to the different time zones. The earliest prayer time is at 4 - 5 a.m at sunrise, continued to another around noon, the next would be 3 pm in the evening, then 6 pm at dusk and finally 7 pm at night.