Tour de Singkarak 2012

4 Jun 2012 - 10 Jun 2012

From 4 to 10 June 2012, Tour de Singkarak 2012 will take some of the world’s renowned cyclists over an 800-kilometer route traversing the most scenic landscapes of West Sumatra’s countryside. This year, the race will cover 7 stages, building on the success of previous races. Competing cyclists will make their way from the starting point in the town of Sawahlunto all the way to the final finish line in the Province’s capital city, Padang.

This year’s race is held in co-operation with ASO (Organizer of Tour de France), marking significant international recognition and increasing its international importance. Tour de Singkarak itself is listed as an annual event on the agenda of the International Cycling Association or Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI).

Following the success of the last three consecutive years, over 250 world class cyclist will compete in the race.  Competing are 18 international teams from 17 countries, which include: Japan, Iran, Singapore, Australia, Uzbekistan, Ukraine, Kirgizstan, Russia, China-Taipei, U.S.A, Germany, The Netherland, New Zealand, France, Vietnam, Malaysia, and obviously Indonesia. As host country, Indonesia will be represented by 7 national teams which will be competing with the international teams that include the Asian Racing Team, Azad University, Cross Team, OCBC Singapore Continental Cycling Team, Genesis Wealth Advisers, Pro Cycling Team, Uzbekistan Suren Team, Eddy Hollands Bicycle Services, Tabriz Petrochemical Team, Action Cycling Team, Plan B Racing Team, CCN Cycling Team (ACT), Colossi Miche Team, Australian National Team, Trengganu Pro, Japan Cycling Federation, Pre Black Racing Team, and Budget Forklifts.  

Previously set as the Start line, Padang, capital of West Sumatra, will now act as Finish point. The route will take cyclists over 14 cities/regencies of West Sumatra. These include: Padang, Sawahlunto, Sijunjung, Limapuluh, Payakumnbuh, Tanah Datar, Bukitttinggi, Agam, Padang Panjang, Solok city, Solok Regency, Padang Pariaman City, Padang Pariaman Regency, and Pesisir Selatan Regency. The complete stages of Tour de Singkarak are as follows:

Stage 1: Sawahlunto

Stage 2: Muaro Sijunjung – Harau Valley

Stage 3: Payakumbuh - Istano Basa

Stage 4: Sicincin Anai Golf - Bukittinggi

Stage 5: Padang Panjang - Singkarak

Stage 6: Pariaman - Painan

Stage 7: Padang Circuit Race  

Combining sports and tourism, the Tour De Singkarak 2012 takes participants to an exciting adventure through the vast mountainous countryside of West Sumatra. The tour will not only offer fierce competition among racers, but it is, moreover, an excellent chance to unveil all the hidden wonders of West Sumatra.

Last year's participants were not only impressed by the lush green scenery, but they were also most taken by the warmth and friendliness of the people who welcomed and cheered for them at every stage.

More Information available at the event official website: